Togo is a West African country. Its capital is Lomé, which is also it is the largest port. In 1884 what is now Togo became apart of the Togoland German protectorate. It was occupied by British and French forces in 1914. In 1946 British and French governments place the territory under the United Nations trusteeship. In 1956 British Togoland was incorporated into the Gold Coast and French Togoland became an autonomous republic under French colonial rule. By 1960 Togo achieved independence. In 1967 a coup abolished the constitution that was established in 1963 as well as the National Assembly. 1992 saw the creation of a new constitution, which established a president to lead the directly elected National Assembly. In 2002 the two-term limit on the presidency was eliminated, but it was reinstated in 2019. After the French, the education system is modeled with primary school beginning at six years old and lasting for six years. The secondary school has two cycles that are four and three years long. School-age children must attend primary and secondary schools, and public and parochial schools provide the schooling. The University of Lomé was founded in 1970.




The student group, Ligue Togolaise des Droits des Étudiants (LTDE) were meeting to organize their grievances on a range of issues affecting their studies. Student leader Satchivi Foly was arrested with several other members and detained in prison. Other group members organized to denounce the imprisonment of their colleagues and the police responded with violence to their protest. Police violence is reported along with several student injuries and arrests made. (
Primary Source)