Botswana is a Sub-Saharan country of about 2 million people. Ethnically, Botswana is majority Tswana at 79%; other ethnic groups include Kalanga and Basarwa. The capital city of Botswana is Gaborone. The government system in Botswana is a republic. The principal exports in this country are diamonds, copper, nickel; diamonds makeup about 40% of the GDP. Botswana achieved its independence in 1966. It has a 40 member National Assembly which elects an Executive President as well as a 15-member advisory House of Chiefs.